Links

Friends of LOST Swimming

A) Swim Clubs:

  1. Burlington Masters Swim Club  http://bmsc.ca/
  2. Oakville Masters Swim Club  http://www.oakvillemasters.ca/
  3. Oakville Aquatic Club  http://oakvilleaquatics.ca/
  4. Kelso Open Water Swimming, JJ Neely’s OWS club at Kelso http://kelsoopenwaterswimming.blogspot.com/
  5. Oannes Swims, OWS in Toronto (Beaches area) http://npconsultants.com/oannesswims/owst/index.html
  6. Vancouver Open Water Swimming Association http://vowsa.bc.ca/
  7. B-Train Swimming, pool and open water Masters team in Ottawa, http://btrainswimming.com/

 

B) Tri Clubs and info:

  1. Tri Club of Burlington  http://www.triburlington.ca/theclub.html
  2. Pace Performance, Greg Pace’s Tri Coaching  http://www.paceperformance.ca/
  3. Cdn Cross-Training Club, Mississauga  http://www.c3online.ca/index.shtml
  4. NRG Tri Training  http://www.nrgpt.com/hm/
  5. Focus in Training, JJ Neely’s personal coaching http://www.focusintraining.com/
  6. Fighting Koala’s, Matt Reid’s tri team,  www.fightingkoalas.com
  7. Subaru Triathlon Series: http://trisportcanada.com/
  8.  Multisport Triathlon Series: http://www.msctriathlon.com/ms/index.cfm
  9. Triathlon Training Tips for Kids:  http://www.southbendsmilesafari.com/triathlon-training-tips-for-kids/

 

C) Boating Groups:

  1. Exhale Sailing Charters (the LOST preferred charter for Lake O Crossings) http://www.exhalecatamaran.com/
  2. Oakville Boaters http://www.oakvilleboaters.com/
  3. SUPTO.CA (stand up paddleboard rentals/lessons) http://supto.ca/
  4. CharterAbility (boat charters, including people w/disabilities) www.charterability.com
  5. Oakville Squadron http://oakville.cps-ecp.org/
  6. Bronte Harbour Yacht Club http://www.bhyc.on.ca/
  7. The National Yacht Club (Toronto) http://www.thenyc.com/
  8. Humber Sailing Club http://www.humbersailingclub.com/
  9. Sailing For You (charter company) http://sailingforyou.ca/
  10. Lake Ontario Sailing (listing of all yacht clubs) http://www.lakeontariosailing.com/yacht_clubs.htm
  11. Burloak Canoe Club  http://www.burloakcanoe.com/
  12. TOWARF, Canadian Coast Guard Auxiliary, Oakville http://www.towarf.com/
  13. Halton Police Marine Unit (Bronte) http://www.hrps.on.ca/SPECIALIZEDUNITS/ESU/Pages/Marine.aspx
  14. Lake Ontario Water Keeper, an environmental group that works to make Lake Ontario safe to swim, drink and fish.  www.waterkeeper.ca

 

D) Public Swimming:

  1. YMCA lap swimming schedule http://www.ymcaofoakville.com/files/091208%20W@G%20Winter.pdf
  2. Town of Oakville lap swimming schedule http://www.oakville.ca/Media_Files/RecCultureBrochures/0910AquaticsRecSwim.pdf
  3. Gulliver’s Lake Park (great place to do some early season OWS, kind of mucky later in the season) http://www.gulliverslake.com/
  4. Lake Kelso (great place to do some early season OWS, kind of mucky later in the season) http://www.conservationhalton.on.ca/ShowCategory.cfm?subCatID=1073

 

E) Running Groups:

  1. Running Room‘s running clinics http://www.runningroom.com/hm/
  2. Stephen Connor’s “Connor’s Runners” and Chiro Clinic http://www.connorchiropractic.com/
  3. Kevin Smith’s “Marathon Dynamicshttp://www.marathondynamics.com/display.php

 

F) Open Water Swimming News:

  1. World Open Water Swimming Association  http://www.worldopenwaterswimmingassociation.com/index.php
  2. The water is Open, Another great source for Open Water Swimming News and Info http://www.thewaterisopen.com/
  3. Daily news of OWS http://www.dailynewsofopenwaterswimming.com/
  4. H2Open magazine,UK-based open water swimming dedicated magazine  http://www.h2openmagazine.com/

 

G) Swim Stores and Swim Equipment:

  1. Finis, swim equipment manufacturer http://www.finisinc.com/
  2. Xterra Wetsuits, One of our sponsors and maker of great wetsuits,   http://www.xterrawetsuits.com/
  3. Swim & Sports, Great swimming supply store in Mississauga  http://www.swimandsports.com/layoutpage.htm
  4. Team Aquatics, Another excellent swimming supply store, in Burlington  https://www.team-aquatic.com/store/
  5. Swim 4 Fitness, A new swim store in Waterdown run by Mat Reid (offers lessons and coaching too)  http://www.swim4fitness.ca/

 

H) Bike Stores:

  1. Racer Sportif, Our local bike store in Oakville  http://www.racersportif.com/
  2. Cyclepath, Another good bike store in Oakville http://www.cyclepath.ca/shop/index.php
  3. Gears, A good bike store in Mississauga http://www.gearsbikeshop.com/
  4. New World Cycle, A good bike store in Burlington http://www.neworldcycle.com/main.htm
  5. Grand River Cycle, A good bike store in Cambridge http://grandrivercycle.com/
  6. Wheels of Oakville, http://wheelsofoakville.com/

 

I) Gadgets & Stuff:

  1. Your Swim Book, the ultimate swimmers log book. http://www.yourswimbook.com/
  2. Swimovate, An amazing lap counting watch http://www.swimovate.com/contactus.html
  3. Pro Ear 2000, Scuba Mask that covers the ears (I’ve got a pair, works well) http://www.proear2000.com/
  4. Swimp3, Music for those long pool swims (it’s great, I’ve got one) http://www.finisinc.com/Company/Tech_Sheets/Swimp3/swimp3_technology.aspx
  5. H2Audio, Another music machine for swimming or a case for ipod shuffle http://www.h2oaudio.ca/
  6. Gmap-pedometer, A Google Maps app that allows you to measure your swim (or bike or run) distance http://www.gmap-pedometer.com/?r=2150518
  7. Spot, A cool GPS tracking device http://www.findmespot.ca/en/
  8. Aquasphere, Great Open Water Swimming Goggles http://www.aquasphereswim.com/index.html
  9. Lighthouse Tattoos, My favorite tattoo shop, ask for Lynk http://www.lighthousetattoos.com/home.html
  10. Katchakid – ultimate pool safety guide and related equipment, http://katchakid.com/

J) Various Products & Services Offered by LOST Swimmers:

  1. Hyperweb, The web company good enough to host and build this website for us! http://hyperweb.ca/
  2. Transition Health, One of our LOST Swimmer’s is also a great nutrionist  http://www.transitionhealth.ca/Welcome.html
  3. Wedgie, A cool tri bike accessory http://www.mywedgie.com/
  4. Second Wind Conditioning, Assorted great training programs http://www.secondwindconditioning.ca/index.html

 

K) International Swim Groups and Organizations

  1. Solo Swims, Main source for Lake Ontario Swims (and other swim info too) http://soloswims.com/
  2. Masters Swimming Canada  http://www.mymsc.ca/index.html
  3. Masters Swimming Ontario (MSO) http://www.mastersswimmingontario.ca/
  4. US Masters Swimming  http://www.usms.org/
  5. English Channel Swimming Organization  http://www.channelswim.net/
  6. NYC Swim, New York City Swimming Organization  http://www.nycswim.org/
  7. Strait of Gibraltar Swimming Organization  http://www.acneg.com/
  8. Open Water Chicago, Similar to LOST Swimming, but in Chicago! http://openwaterchicago.com/
  9. La Jolla Cove Swim Club, A great OWS club in San Diego http://www.lajollacoveswimclub.org/
  10. Pacific Open Water Swimming, OWS’ing in Northern California, http://www.pacificopenwater.com/home
  11. Jersey Long Distance Swim Club, in Jersey Island, UK, http://www.jerseyseaswims.org/index.html
  12. Santa Barbara Channel Swimming Assoc., in Southern California, near LA, www.sbchannelswim.org.
  13. Catalina Channel Swimming Association, in Southern California, near LA, http://swimcatalina.com/index.php
  14. South End Rowing Club, One of the great old OWS clubs in San Francisco http://www.south-end.org/
  15. The Dolphin Club, The other great old OWS club in San Francisco http://www.dolphinclub.org/
  16. Farallon Island Swimming Federation, Arguably the toughest swim in the world!  http://farallonswimfed.com/Farallon_Islands_Swimming_Federation/ESCORT_VESSELS.html

 

L) Swimming Tours and Travel

  1. Swim Trek (by Simon Murie)… http://swimtrek.com/
  2. Strel Swimming (by Martin “Big River Man” Strel)… http://www.strel-swimming.com/
  3. Total Immersion (by Terry Laughlin)… http://www.totalimmersion.net/index.php
  4. Swimmers Guide, Find a Pool anywhere in the World http://www.swimmersguide.com/default.htm

M) Other Races – for info on Open Water Races around the world… see “The Global Swim Series” (GlobalSwimSeries.com), which was started by the founders of LOST Swimming!